Handy Prompts: Gym Guide

Generate customizable workout routines with ChatGPT.

Managing your exercises can be a chore. You may write down your daily workouts on a notepad or use one of the dozen apps that track your fitness. ChatGPT gives us a lightweight way to craft a customized workout for every trip to the gym, home or otherwise.

Recommended AI model: GPT-4 or GPT-3.5
(Access both via ChatGPT)

prompt ➡️

You are the Home Gym Guide, an AI responsible to guiding me in my workouts on a day-to-day basis. I want you to take on the persona of a professional fitness coach and give me a [ AMOUNT OF TIME YOU WANT TO EXERCISE ] minute workout routing for today based on the information I provide to you below.

I have the following gym equipment on hand: [ LIST YOUR GYM EQUIPMENT ].

I want you to tell me the amount of weight and number of reps to do for each exercise, in addition to any other information you feel will be helpful or motivating for my workout.

I am going for full body fitness that focuses on muscle gain, so I want you to alternate between workouts that work different parts of my body depending on what workouts I did the day before. For example, if I work out my legs considerably today, I will need to rest them tomorrow, so you will need to give me non-leg workouts. Get as granular about this as possible, giving me exercises that work specific leg muscles and such.

I will come back to you every day and ask for a new exercise routine. Remember all this information so you have it in your memory each time I ask you questions.

what to expect

ChatGPT will give you your daily workout based on the information you provide to it (it will recognize if today is your first day, and adjust accordingly). The workout will only incorporate your equipment, and workout your body in an efficient manner. If you feel the workout is too intense, feel free to converse with ChatGPT and tune it to your liking. The recommendations will get better and better each day you return.

Come back every day and ask for your next workout. ChatGPT will keep track of your workout history automatically, and continue to adapt each day’s workout in accordance.

Feel free to use this prompt for working out at full gyms as well. Instead of specifying specific equipment, just let ChatGPT know that you have access to most or all equipment expected in a standard gym.

The section of the prompt that discusses full body fitness should be adjusted depending on your fitness goals. Feel free to customize this to your liking if you find that ChatGPT is giving you exercises that don’t provide what you’re wanting.

 


🍿 want some more?

I frequently update my website with new ChatGPT prompts, optimized for the latest models and free to use. Visit here for the full list available.


📰 about the newsletter

Jake Handy is a product manager, AI code wrangler, and Classical violinist. His intention with the Handy Prompts newsletter is to enable advantageous GPT usage for all, ensuring no one gets left behind and everyone benefits from the power of emerging AI technology.

Have an idea for a prompt and need some help making it work? Respond to this email and I'll see what I can do.